Welcome. Mind the step.

I’ve been so far removed from blogging and writing in general lately that I have been struggling to get back to it. Shreve from Honey Rock Dawn has been feeling this way as well and decided to post every day for the next month. Writing for the sake of writing. Or blogging. Whatever. Anyway, I am going to do the same. No finesse. No carefully crafted wordsmithery. Just simple, straight-forward whatever.

I am also over on instagram doing the #fmphotoaday – so I may align both posts to talk about the same topic, especially if I have more than the appropriately sized Instagram description to say on any given topic. Such as today, where the prompt is “A Door.” I know I am pushing it posting this just after 10:30pm but fuck it, I had to see Deadpool and then I had to come home and cook dinner. Then I sat down to watch an episode of Downton Abbey even though i have seen said episode four times. FIGHT ME.

Bridge House - Skibbreen, Cork

For whatever reason, I got it in my head that I wanted to snap a series of photographs depicting interesting doors of Europe. I really didn’t get on it until I was in Ireland, more than half way through my trip. I need to go back to Brugge in particular because I am having MASSIVE regrets not taking a photo of this gorgeous purple door I kept walking by. I will talk about the weirdness that was Brugge another day, though, and stay on task for now.

All through the near three weeks I spent in Ireland, I took photo after photo of doors. As I explained more eloquently on instagram: I am fascinated by residential architecture and how color plays an important part, especially on doors. The entryway to the home is particularly integral to how we, outside strangers, perceive the dwellers within. I don’t know. It read more profoundly on instagram.

It isn’t difficult to figure out why this door stood out to me, with it’s fire engine red door, dainty floral flourish – which almost looks Art Nouveau, with those curves – and all of that greenery going on around it. The green-teal of the building itself, while lovely, does pose such a juxtapose to the violence of the red that I cannot love it completely, but I do appreciate the commitment to polarization.

This door is located picturesque harbor town of Skibbreen, a town in west Cork. It is the front door of Bridge House, a guest lodgings that I am sure sees booming business during the summer and late spring. My friend Fiona, saint that she is, took me all over the central-west Cork area and put up with my bizarre door obsession with grace and patience. Thanks, Fiona. I imagine one day I will have prints made and I will send a print of a door we visited together and she will mutter in a bemused tone, “God love her, she’s crackers.”

2 thoughts on “Welcome. Mind the step.

Leave a Reply

