How to be Superb with Eddy Lu


If one were to look at my iPhone, one would notice a small handful of very deliberately curated apps. First and foremost, no Facebook and no games. As Twitter is my go-to platform for chit-chatting with the world wide web, I sprung the $3 for Tweetbot because there are certain features worth paying for (points and winks at mute feature). My apps tend to stick close to the traditional blogger arsenal: Tastemade, Instagram, Vine (even the occasional trend can suck the immovable force that typically is my iron will), Snapseed, my photo editing guardian angel, and now Superb.

Superb in a Nutshell: From Eddy Lu and the team that brought you Grubwithus, Superb is an internet-based social networking app that showcases the best places around you and reveals where your friends want to go, so you experience them together. From restaurants to street art, live music venues to hiking trails, Superb elevates user-generated content based on overall community popularity.


screenshots courtesy of Superb team


How Superb works: From the moment you tap on the app, Superb reveals places in full photo view for you to scroll through and read about from the perspective of someone excited to either check out the place or go back again. Swipe right to mark places to do, swipe left to mark places you are not interested in and tap the center button to mark that you’ve already been to a place. If you are interested in a place, Superb unveils others who are also interested, highlighting your friends at the top for quick access to message them through the Superb Conversation feature. If you are looking for a specific place or want to browse by an interest, simply search or tap on a category to do so.

Co-founder and CEO of Superb Eddy Lu took the time to answer some questions I shot off to him, giving users a more comprehensive understanding of Superb, and more importantly, why it should be in your app arsenal.

Q: What is the inspiration behind creating Superb, and what do you hope to achieve with it?

Eddy: We’re passionate about using online to facilitate offline interactions, so we created Superb to help you discover exciting new places and make it easier to experience them with friends.

Eddy Lu
Q: How do you expect Superb to grow and stand out?

Eddy: With current apps like Foursquare or Facebook, it’s about telling people what you are currently doing, or what you did in the past. We’re all about future intent – things you want to do in the future. The app is truly better with friends. If your friends are using Superb, you can see their favorite places they’ve been to, where they want to go and the places you have in common, making it easier to plan outings. We expect users will see the potential the app has to bring their friends closer together and thus, more inclined to invite their friends to use the app with them.

Q: What are the new features and improvements of the recent update?

Eddy: We’ve improved the overall design of the app, making it simpler and more intuitive. In addition, we added an option for marking places “not for me,” so you won’t see them anymore, as well as added Conversations, which allows you to message your friends about a place through the app.

Q: What is in Superb’s future, as well as yours?

Eddy: Our goal is to get more people offline and experiencing their cities. Our new Conversations feature makes this possible, but there is still much to be improved upon. So, we’ll be reaching out to users for feedback and making those improvements over the next couple of months. A couple things we’ve already heard from users are the ability to add time based events/activities to the stream, and the ability to select multiple people to see what places everyone has in common to do. As the co-founder of the company, most of my life revolves around Superb, so my future mainly consist of making the app super useful and something people truly love.

Glass on Win on Superb
My Thoughts: After getting to play with the app in the time leading up to the big launch, I can securely commit to the opinion that Superb is on my iPhone to stay. I wouldn’t bother writing this post if I thought it wasn’t worth my time (or yours).

What I Love:

  • The “To Do” feature; I have a list of carefully curated places I can reference on the go.
  • The “Not for Me” feature: Superb recommends places, and it’s nice to have a firm but polite way of saying thanks, but no thanks.
  • My Qualm:

  • The employment of photographs pulled from Instagram without filtering or accreditation, especially images feature peopling (if it be unbeknown to them). I’m unaware of how this technology works, but if the images that are pulled from Instagram are done so without the authorization of the user whom initially posted it, this feature does not sit well with me. Photos featuring people, especially children, ought to be filtered out for privacy protection and a feature that credits each image to its original Instagram user (complete with link), would leave me without any qualms with Superb.


    A labor of love and dedication, with a keen ear tuned to feedback is surely a recipe for success. For myself, a forever foodist, I’m constantly shuffling away bookmark after bookmark in my browser of places to eat. There isn’t a single restaurant I do not cross-reference online (especially at Gastronomy, where I’ve left a carpet bombing of “I’M GOING THERE!” comments in my wake). Now I have a carefully constructed list of restaurants and regional adventure destinations; all on the go, so I can utilize my Superb list when I find myself in a new neighborhood and a rumble in my stomach.

  • Discover more about Superb


  • Advertisements

    4 thoughts on “How to be Superb with Eddy Lu

      • It was great to finally meet you, too, Xenia! Yeah, I am admittedly not sure what’s to be done with the images (if anything). I expressed my concern at the dinner, but it was sort of drowned out by all of the amazing food. Heh whoops ❤

    Leave a Reply

    